This article reviews how to create and manage campaigns enabled as Shareable from the new Studio.
Making content shareable encourages your employees to take content from your community into their social networks.
Turning Shareable ON
Any Studio user who has access to create campaigns can set content as Shareable. The Shareable setting is available for all content types. Note: If a poll is set to shareable, the shared content can be seen but not answered.
Content can be set as Shareable when completing the Orchestration settings for a campaign. Just slide the indicator for Shareable from OFF to ON. Setting Shareable to ON turns on the share icon on the content card in the Member’s mobile app or web experience, and opens up the Shareable Message dialogue and Public URL Slug options for the Studio user.
After setting a campaign to shareable, you can craft a suggested shareable message for users, as well as a Public URL slug. The shareable message can be edited by users and will be suggested to users depending on which network they share to and the configuration of your community.
We recommend using less than 280 characters. Your shareable message can be longer than 280 characters, but may be cut off by the social network. Note that the character count includes the shareable message, link (23 characters), and appended hashtag (if applicable), as well as spaces between each letter.
Depending on your community's configuration and the target social media platform, the shareable message may pre-populate with the community’s appended hashtags.
Note: The prepopulated shareable message and appended hashtag may only appear when sharing to Twitter. Facebook policy prohibits the use of prepopulated shareable messages, and LinkedIn appears to be implementing a similar policy (the exact behavior with LinkedIn depends on the user's device and LinkedIn mobile app version).
Turning Shareable OFF
Turning Shareble OFF can be done at any time in the Orchestration settings, even after a campaign has been published. Marking a previously shareable post as non-shareable will remove the public-facing page that was associated with that post. The post will still be accessible to users of your app, but not to the public. Note that, if the post has already been shared out, the shared links will no longer work if the post is made non-shareable, or if the post is archived.
Members of the public will see something like this for any posts that have been previously shared:
Please note, setting Shareable to OFF does not prevent users from downloading content or taking screenshots. The Shareable setting only controls whether the share icon is presented to users and whether public users can access the shared link to the post.
What Members & the Public See
In your community's experience, Members can see the share icon on shareable posts. For more details about the Member's sharing experience, please refer to the Share Content article. In the mobile app experience, users will see a lock icon on the content card for posts that are not shareable.
Shareable posts are available publicly on the world wide web. Where non-shareable posts are only accessible to Members of your community, shareable posts are accessible via a public link, which employees can share anywhere and with anyone. The public version of the post does not display comments, likes, or other engagement features that signed-in Members can see.
Below we have screenshots contrasting what a Member of your community can see while signed in versus what a Member of the public sees when they click on a shared article. The exact experience will be different for different types of content, but this helps show that the public version is just the content itself.
Because your community branding may differ between internal and public-facing branding, the web page banner image is configured separately.