With mobile app 3.4.1 and up, your community can be more secure and easier to access at the same time with Easy Access, also known as Biometric Sign In.
When Easy Access is turned on for a community, the mobile app users will be asked if they would like to enable Easy Access for their account. When enabled, the user will be prompted to provide their biometric every time they reopen the mobile app. If they fail to pass the biometric check too many times, they will be prompted to sign in using their password.
Note, this means that if the user is signed out for any reason then they will still need to know their password to sign in to the app. Easy Access is used for reopening the app only.
Easy Access leverages the following on-device authentication tools for reopening the mobile app:
- iOS Touch ID and Face ID
- Android Fingerprint and keyguard (PIN and pattern) features
As Easy Access leverages on-device authentication tools, we only collect the most basic data regarding the authentication. The basic data that we do track:
- Our app is aware that the user has granted permission to use a biometric/on-device authentication method on the user's device.
- When the biometric authentication permission has been granted, and our app needs to authenticate the user, we ask the device's operating system (OS) to authenticate the user, with whatever sign-in method is in use, and then our app receives either a success or failure message back from the OS.
Article is closed for comments.