This article reviews how to create and manage campaigns that have external sharing enabled in Studio.
Making content shareable encourages your employees to take content from your community into their social networks.
Default shareable settings for user-submitted content are described here: Submit and Edit Content.
Turning External Sharing ON
Any Studio user who has access to create campaigns can set content as shareable. The shareable setting is available for all content types. Note: If a poll is set to shareable, the shared content can be seen but not answered.
Content can be set as shareable when completing the Content Settings on the Deliver page for a campaign. Just select the checkbox next to Allow shares externally to enable sharing. External sharing can even be enabled after a campaign has been published. Allowing sharing enables the share icon in the full view of the campaign in the member experience. See What Members and the Public See below.
After setting a campaign to shareable, you can craft a suggested Share Message for users. You can also create a Public URL Slug, descriptive text after your domain name at the end of a URL that identifies a web page on the domain. (Ex: www.domain.com/category/holiday-party/)The share message can be edited by users and will be suggested to users depending on which network they share to and the configuration of your community.
If the share message is modified after a campaign has been published, the updated message will be used when the campaign is shared by a user. If the URL slug is modified after a campaign has been published, the new slug will be used when the campaign is shared by a user and the previously used slug will return an error.
We recommend using less than 280 characters. Your share message can be longer than 280 characters but may be cut off by the social network. Note that the character count includes the share message, link (23 characters), and appended hashtag (if applicable), as well as spaces between each letter.
Depending on your community's configuration and the target social media platform, the share message may pre-populate with the community’s appended hashtags.
Note: The pre-populated share message and appended hashtag may only appear when sharing to X (formerly Twitter). Facebook policy prohibits the use of pre-populated share messages, and LinkedIn appears to be implementing a similar policy (the exact behavior with LinkedIn depends on the user's device and LinkedIn mobile app version).
Public URL Slug
With sharing enabled, you can also create a custom public URL slug that will be appended to the campaign URL when shared content is clicked on.
Turning External Sharing OFF
Sharing can be disabled at any time in Deliver, even after a campaign has been published. Disabling sharing on a previously shareable campaign will remove the public-facing page that was associated with that campaign and previously shared URLs will no longer work. The campaign will still be accessible to users of your app, but not to the public. Note that, if the campaign has already been shared out, the shared links will no longer work if sharing is disabled for the campaign, or if the campaign is archived.
Members of the public will see something like this for any campaigns that have been previously shared:
Please note, disabling sharing does not prevent users from downloading content or taking screenshots. This setting only controls whether the share icon is presented to users and whether public users can access the shared link to the campaign.
What Members and the Public See
In your community's experience, members can see the share icon on shareable posts. For more details about the member's sharing experience, please refer to the Share Content article. In the mobile app experience, users will see a lock icon on the content card for posts that are not shareable.
Shareable campaigns are available publicly on the world wide web. Where non-shareable campaigns are only accessible to members of your community, shareable campaigns are accessible via a public link, which employees can share anywhere and with anyone. The public version of the campaign does not display comments, likes, or other engagement features that signed-in members can see.
Below we have screenshots contrasting what a member of your community can see while signed in versus what a member of the public sees when they click on a shared article. The exact experience will be different for different types of content, but this helps show that the public version is just the content itself.
Because your community branding may differ between internal and public-facing branding, the web page banner image is configured separately.