Note: This article only applies to communities with access to the web or mobile app experience and, therefore, does not apply to Email-Only communities.
This article reviews how to create and manage commentable content from Studio. Details about the member experience with commenting are outlined in Comment on Content.
If you do not see the Allow comments setting when creating or editing a campaign in Studio, the feature may be disabled for your community. If you believe the feature should be enabled for your community, please contact Firstup Support.
Turning Comments ON
Any Studio user who has access to create campaigns in Studio can allow comments on a campaign. The Allow comments setting is available for all content types.
While creating or editing a campaign in Studio, select the checkbox next to Allow comments under the Content Settings on the Deliver page.
When comments are allowed on a campaign, members will see the comment icon on the content card in the mobile app and web experience. Members can then interact using the comment tool.
Note: You can choose the default behavior (ON or OFF) of your comment setting. Reach out to Firstup Support if you would like to change the current default behavior of your community.
Comments can only be viewed by members of the web experience and the mobile app. This means that if you have, for example, an article with both sharing and commenting allowed, when the content is shared with an external network the users that open the shareable link will not see any comments associated with the post.
Turning Comments OFF
If comments are disabled after the campaign has been published, users will no longer be able to access the comments that have already been posted and cannot create new comments. All comments that were already posted can still be viewed in Studio. Allowing comments again will restore the comments that were already made.
Only Community Admins, Brand Super Admins and custom roles with permission to moderate comments and content can view and moderate comments, however, Community Admins and restricted custom roles are restricted to content posted to their assigned topics. On the Sent tab, click the comment link to view the comments on that post.
Campaigns Page Example
All comments are subject to banned terms auto-moderation.
Members can flag comments for review using the report option. Once a comment is flagged, on the Campaigns page, you'll see a red hyperlink indicator. Click on the red hyperlink to view the flagged comments for that campaign.
If a Member has disqualified themselves from participating in the community, you can deactivate them from the Users page (see Manage Studio and Experience Access).
You can delete a comment whether it is flagged or not. Comments must be deleted individually. A deleted comment will no longer be accessible in Studio, the mobile app, or web experience. It is not possible to undo the delete action.
Note: When a user deletes a comment, there is no standard way to see who deleted the comment or when it was deleted. Deleting a comment does not update the activity feed or campaign history, and no information in available in the Comments Overview report. When investigating serious issues around commenting behavior, such as potential employee misconduct, please reach out to our Support team.
View comments for a specific post.
Click Delete to permanently remove a comment.
If a comment has been flagged, you can choose to either delete the comment or just remove the flag.
Post authors are alerted in Assistant to comments and likes on their own content, as well as when someone @mentions them in comments on any post. This means that a Studio user will only receive Assistant notifications if they are set as the author of the content. The author is the name and avatar displayed as the content source. Currently, Studio users are not notified of comment activity on content published under Community Name. However, you can access all comments for all posts, view all comments on a specific post, and see which posts have flagged comments from Studio.
If the community has an active workflow based on the “watched content digest” template, users will also receive an email notification of activity around their comments.
Refer to the article Publish as Different Author for more details about how a Studio user can set the author to a specific user or to the Community Name.