Note: This article only applies to Brand Super Admins or applicable custom roles. For more details on Studio access, please refer to the Defining Roles and Restrictions article.
Once your community updates to the new Studio and updates from Classic Roles to Advanced Permissions, you will be able to utilize a set of standard system roles and have the ability to create custom roles. We believe that the majority of your users should fit within a system role, but for exceptions, you can always create a custom role.
When upgrading from Classic Roles to Advanced Permissions, the roles do not correspond directly to each other because the two systems organize access in different ways. Below, we have outlined the closest comparison as a starting point for considering whether your current users can be mapped to one of the Advanced Permission system roles. Again, if the system roles do not fit your needs then you can explore custom roles as well.
This article focuses on the comparison between Classic Studio roles and Advanced Permissions - for details on how the Advanced Permission roles work, please refer to Defining Roles and Restrictions. Note that only Brand Super Admins can modify the roles of other users in the new Studio with Advanced Permissions enabled.
|Advanced Permissions Role||Guidance|
|Administrator||Brand Super Admin||
Administrators moving to Brand Super Admin will experience no change in their current new Studio access.
They retain access to all features in the new Studio, with no restrictions, and can manage roles of other users.
Note, there is some loss of functionality from Classic Studio to the new Studio. There is no role in the new Studio that can configure the Organization Name or Studio session timeout. There is no role that can access multiple communities (in the new Studio, Brand Super Admin must be applied in each community within an organization). Also there is only one role in the new Studio that can edit the roles of other users, this means that there is no "protected" role that cannot be edited by other users.
|Brand Super Admin||
Program Managers moving to Brand Super Admin will experience no change in their new Studio access.
They will retain access to all features, with no restrictions, and can manage roles of other users.
Program Managers moving to Community Admin will lose significant functionality. Once demoted to Community Admin, former Program Managers must be manually assigned topics and audiences, as they have no Classic equivalent to topic/audience restrictions.
They will lose the ability to manage roles for other users, they will be restricted by assigned topics/audiences, they will be limited to the default/assigned templates and senders, and they will lose the ability to configure the experience (branding, shortcuts, microapps, etc.), security, or account settings (community name, hashtags).
They will retain their access to all campaign settings, all of Insights, and the Library. They can still configure email aliases, feeds, initiatives, and topics. They can still create audiences, but will be limited by the users they have access to through their assigned audiences.
Publishers moving to Content Publisher will gain and lose some functionality. You will also need to manually assign topics and audiences, as they have no Classic permissions for us to map over for you.
They will gain the ability to create polls and send emails and push notifications.
They will be restricted by their assigned topics and audiences, and they will lose the ability to configure topics and feeds. Their access to Insights will be scoped down to reports and data relevant to their assigned topics and audiences only.
|Topic Manager||Community Admin||
Topic Managers moving to Community Admin will gain some functionality, but would still be restricted by any previously assigned topics and audiences.
They will gain the ability to manage the configuration of their assigned topics, create audiences within their assigned audiences, and access all reports under Insights. They will be able to manage workflows (such as the welcome email or recurring newsletters). They will also be able to create private (hidden) drafts.
In contrast to a Content Publisher, as Community Admin they can moderate comments and select Critical as a priority.
|Topic Manager||Content Publisher||
Topic Managers moving to Content Publisher will gain a very small amount of functionality, but would still be restricted by any previously assigned topics and audiences.
They will gain the ability to feature content and create polls. They will have now access to the Insights page, however, Insights will be limited to a selection of reports and the reports themselves will be filtered to only their allowed content.
|Topic Manager||Content Creator||
Topic Managers moving to Content Publisher will lose significant functionality. They would still be restricted by any previously assigned topics and audiences.
They will lose the ability to publish campaigns (meaning they can only save content as drafts). They will also lose access to metrics.
There was no role in Classic Studio that could create content without then being able to publish. As a new role, you may want to revisit your governance plan. Note, anyone with publishing capability, such as a Content Publisher, Community Admin, or Brand Super Admin, can publish content created by a Content Creator. Restricted roles (such as Content Publishers) will need access to the same topic as the Content Creator.
|Analyst||<must create custom role>||There is no analog in Advanced Permission system roles for Analysts. We do have an article on how to create an approximation as a custom role.|
We encourage reviewing the above with your Customer Success Manager - we want to work with you to make sure the Advanced Permission roles that are assigned to your users fit your needs, whether that means the use of a system role or creating a custom role.
Article is closed for comments.